The Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA), initially known as the Indian Ocean Rim Initiative, is an international organization with 19 member states. It was first established in Mauritius on March 1995 and formally launched on 6-7 March 1997.IORA activities include several on-going topical projects and work programs conducted by member countries with shared interests, all of which are under the umbrella of 3 separate working groups.

These are the Working Group on Trade and Investment (WGTI), the Indian Ocean Rim Business Forum (IORBF), and the Indian Ocean Rim Academic Group (IORAG). The working groups have business and academic representatives to ensure that different points of view and interests are fully reflected in IORA’s work program.